A girls night out. Wine Bar and Bistro

Sometimes you just want to give yourself a treat. Some other times, you want to share that treat. 

8/10/13 Diana is back to Albany

IMG_20130810_191335_253After one long year of absence, one of my very first roommate I shared two years of my life with in Albany is finally back. She is going to start a PhD this Fall. She is one of the smartest person I know and she deserves to be here. Needless to say that once I found out she was coming back, my mind began to spin thinking about what we could have done and gone together. Again. The first thought was: let’s go grab a bite! The stomach needs as much attention as the mind. But the food has to be good. A happy person, has a happy belly. And I am very happy!

Slide1

Although I have been spending the past years without a car, I was still able to explore Albany and find some good and fine restaurants, bars, and bistros. The Wine Bar and Bistro on Lark (http://winebaronlark.com/) is one of my favorite. Tonight we had Pan seared crab cakes, sautee’ calamari as starters.

Slide2I particularly like The Wine Bar because of the cozy atmosphere, the service, and the quality of the food. It is a European-based bistro that serves delicious dishes with a European taste. The variety of ingredients is phenomenal. It is difficult to get bored or to get the same thing twice. They also change their menu seasonally. Did I also mention that they change the cheese selection every week? And what about the fantastic wine selection from all over the world? The reasons why I like this place are many.

Slide4The bellies were not happy enough, so we decided we wanted to treat ourselves a bit more so we had Faroe Island Salmon and Pan seared duck breast. We decided to accompany everything with a glass of Grillo/Cataratto, Tenuta Rapitala “Piano Maltese” 2011  from Sicily, and a glass of Cheverny (Sauvignon Blanc), Domaine du Salvard 2012 from Loire Valley, France. Perfect choices. I could have not asked for more. Or maybe I could have.

Slide3

Stay tuned for the following girls night out! Albany is full with surprises!

This entry was published on August 11, 2013 at 21:55. It’s filed under Antipasti, Dove Mangiare, Primi Piatti, Secondi Piatti and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

