Oatmeal my way

One of the things I started eating more recently is oatmeal. If you have been following my blog, you probably know I had a baby girl, Emma, last January. I decided to breastfeed her and, one of the things I was told, is that oatmeal helps in producing more milk. It would not hurt to try, I thought, so I started making oatmeal regularly for breakfast. It took a few trials to find the right balance of flavors since, to me, oatmeal is an acquired taste. Well, I am glad to say that I have found it and I want to share it with you.

Ingredients (makes 1 portion)

– 1/2 cup oats (50g)

– cold water

– 1 pack Stevia

– 1Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

– a pinch of cinnamon

– a pinch of salt

– a small handful of crasins o raisins

– 10 almonds, chopped

– peanut or almond butter (or any other nit butter if you prefer other flavors)

– some almond milk (optional)

– fresh strawberries (or any other fresh fruit of your choice)

Procedure

Place the oats in a small pot with 1 1/2 cup of cold water (the ratio of oats and water is 1:3) and turn on the heat on medium. Add the Stevia, the cinnamon, the salt and the cocoa powder and mix it all together. Add the craisins or raisins and the almonds. Bring to boil stirring occasionally so it won’t stick to the bottom of the pan and let it boil for a minute or so until it becomes a bit more consistent.

Place in a bowl and add some milk to make it more creamy and top it with the nut butter and fresh of your choice. Voila’! You have a yummy and complete breakfast ready in less than 10 minutes.

 

IMG_5733

I hope you will make this at home and enjoy it as much as I do. Follow my culinary adventures if you like and stay tuned for the next delicious recipe!

This entry was published on June 16, 2018 at 08:38. It’s filed under Dolci, Frutta & Verdura, Vegetariano and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Oatmeal my way

  1. Pingback: Baked Oatmeal 1.0 | In the Kitchen with Laura

Leave a comment