Lemon Chicken with Broccoli

The other day I was surfing Instagram and I stumbled into this amazing recipe of chicken and broccoli with lemon. It was hot outside and I needed to come up with a quick and healthy recipe for dinner; this seemed absolutely perfect, and it turned out to be.

Chicken is among the most versatile food in my opinion. It can be crispy, tender, you can fry, stir fry, roast, bake, or even steam it. It can be eaten hot or cold just like i a chicken salad, and it can be paired with so many different herbs and spices. I feel confident in saying that chicken is a protein for all seasons. Here I flavored it with rosemary which is one of my favorite herbs. Let’s get this dish started then!

Ingredients

– 5 chicken tigths

– 12oz (340g) broccoli florets

– rosemary

– 1 medium organic lemon

– zest of 1/2 lemon

– EVO oil as needed

– salt and pepper to flavor

 

Procedure

In a wok warm up some EVO oil (approx 2 Tbsp)on medium heat and cook the broccoli for about 10 min adjusting with salt and pepper and stirring occasionally so they broccoli won’t stick to the wok. I personally don’t like soft broccoli, and I prefer when they stay a bit crunchy and still bright green. If you prefer the broccoli to be softer, just cook them longer. You can also cover the wok with a lid so the broccoli will use the steam to cook.

In a large non stick pan warm up some EVO oil on medium heatand start cooking the chicken tights on one side; add the rosemary over the chicken, some salt and pepper and let cook for about 3-4 min. In the meantime, grate the zest of 1/2 the lemon and keep it aside. Squeeze the juice of the same half of the lemon you have grated the zest off saving it for later, and cut the other half in small triangles. At this time the chicken should be cooked on one side and you can flip it. Let is cook for another few minutes then add the lemon juice over the chicken. Flip again the chicken so both sides get soaked in lemon juice then remove from the stove.

The broccoli should also be ready and it’s time to plate. For the chicken I used a large pan, so all I did was to remove the chicken and place the broccoli in the pan, sprinkle with the lemon zest and add the chicken on top.

IMG_7834

The lemon and rosemary give this dish a very fresh taste perfect for a hot Summer day.

IMG_7830

I hope you will make it at home and enjoy it as much as I did. Leave me a feedback and follow my blog for updates on delicious recipe and stay tuned for the next yummy dish!

This entry was published on July 4, 2018 at 21:09. It’s filed under Primi Piatti, Secondi Piatti and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment